STATE OF COLORADO

DIVISION OF RECLAMATION, MINING AND SAFETY Department of Natural Resources

1313 Sherman St., Room 215 Denver, Colorado 80203

Phone: (303) 866-3567

FAX: (303) 832-8106

December 3, 2009

William P. Balaz Tetra Tech, Inc. 825 North Crest Drive Grand Junction, Colorado 81506

Re: Conger Harvest Area, Permit M-1998-022, CN-01, Approval.

Dear Mr. Balaz,

The Division of Reclamation Mining and Safety has received Tetra Tech's response to staff review of the above referenced application. As noted earlier the objection received has been withdrawn. Tetra Tech has accepted the reclamation liability on behalf of Gallegos Corporation. It appears that all issues have been addressed to meet the minimum requirements of the Act and Rules. <u>Therefore, staff is pleased to inform Tetra Tech and Gallegos that the conversion from a 110c to a 112c is approved.</u>

The accepted calculated reclamation liability is to be \$7,725.00. This is a \$305.00 increase in the bond already held by the Division. Please submit the appropriate bonding documentation to Elizabeth Taliaferro in the DRMS Denver Office. If there are any questions regarding those documents please contact Elizabeth at 303-866-4084. As a reminder, no disturbance can begin within the new area until Gallegos receives bond acceptance documentation from the Denver Office.

The new portion of mining will occur primarily on Forest Service lands. A copy of the estimate was forwarded to them for their review and acceptance per a Memo of Understanding. Should there be any issues raised by the Forest Service in regard to the bond they must be addressed prior to any disturbance within their area.

If you need additional information, please contact me at the Division of Reclamation Mining and Safety, Grand Junction Field Office, 101 S. 3rd St., Suite 301, Grand Junction, Colorado 81501, telephone no. 970.241.1117.

Sincerely,

G. Russell Means Environmental Protection Specialist II

Cc: Irene Davidson, Aspen-Sopris Ranger District



Bill Ritter, Jr. Governor

Harris D. Sherman Executive Director

Ronald W. Cattany Division Director Natural Resource Trustee