@ COLORADO
w Division of Reclamation,
- Mining and Safety
Department of Natural Resources

1313 Sherman 5t. Room 215
Denver, CO 80203

May 11, 2021

Randy & Christine Ross
434 Private Road 3591
Piedmont, MO 63957

Re: St, Mary’s Mine (NOI No. P-2019-002)
REASON TO BELIEVE A VIOLATION EXISTS AND

NOTICE OF BOARD HEARING

Dear Sir or Madam:

C.R.S. 34-32-116(4), Rule 5.6, and your notice of intent require you to submit to the Division of
Reclamation, Mining and Safety (Division) an annual fee, map and report, due on or before May 6 of
each year. The annual fee required for your permit is $86.00. As of the date of this letter the Division
has not received your submittal.

Therefore, the Division has reason to believe this is a violation of C.R.S. 34-32-116(4) et seq., Rule
5.6, and your notice of intent, and has scheduled this matter to appear before the Mined Land
Reclamation Board (Board), pursuant to C.R.S. 34-32-124.

A Formal Public Hearing will be held during the June 23-24, 2021 Board meeting (or the second day
of a two day meeting) for consideration of these possible violations. Due to the impacts of the
COVID-19 virus on the availability of State facilities and Division resources, notice is hereby given
the June 23-24, 2021 Mined Land Reclamation Board (MLRB) hearing will be by a virtual ZOOM
hearing. You will have the opportunity to present your defense.

In order to participate in the hearing, all exhibits and materials you wish for the Board to consider
must be submitted by June 11, 2021 via email to the MLRB Administrator. You must also provide an
email of all parties to the MLRB Administrator, Camie Mojar at: Camille.mojaricstate.co.us, no later
than 5:00 PM, June 11, 2021 in order to receive an authorization code to attend or to request a
continuance of the matter. Please note that only Parties and those whe will be testifying may
attend by ZOOM. All other interested persons may attend the hearing via the MLRB YouTube

This is an important legal proceeding and you must appear in person for this hearing. If you fail

to appear an order and money judgment may be entered against you. In addition, failure to
appear at the hearing may result in legal consequences including, but not limited to, loss of party
status and your ability to seek reconsideration from the Board or seek judicial appeal in district
court.

“OF CO[O

1313 Sherman St, Room 215 Denver, CO 80203 P (303) 866-3567 F (303) 832-8106 https:/ /drms.colorado.gov
Jared Polis, Governor | Dan Gibbs, Executive Director | Virginia Brannon, Director

iR76 ¥

*



Reason to Believe a Violation Exists and Notice of Board Hearing
St. Mary’s Mine (NOI No. P-2019-002)
Page 2 of 3

This hearing format is in support of Governor Jared Polis’ direction and the Colorado Department of
Public Health Safety and Environment recommendations to limit meetings as part of the social
distancing objectives set out by the State of Colorado to help control the spread of COVID-19.

If you submit the past due annual fee, report, and map by June 18, 2021, this matter will be
withdrawn from Board consideration and the scheduled hearing will be vacated by the Division.

If the Board finds a violation at this hearing, it may revoke the notice of intent, issue a Cease and
Desist Order and/or assess a Civil Penalty in the amount of $100.00 to $1,000.00 for each day of
violation pursuant to C.R.8. 34-32-124(7). If you have evidence indicating that the possible
violations noted above do not exist or have been corrected, please provide it to the Division as soon as
possible or bring it to the hearing.

If the matter is brought before the Mined Land Reclamation Board, following the hearing, all parties
have an opportunity to review and comment on a draft of the Board's order before it becomes final, If
you wish to do so, you must provide the Board with a written request to review the draft Order prior to
or at the time of your hearing, or you must inform the Board orally during the hearing that you request
to review the draft Order. You must include your mailing address and, if possible, an email address.
You will be provided a copy of the draft Order for your review as soon as it is available. The Board
must receive your comments on the draft Order within ten (10) calendar days of the date the draft Order
is mailed, unless that deadline is extended. Please note that the Division of Reclamation, Mining and
Safety has requested and will be allowed to review and comment on the draft Board Order prior to
mailing to any party. Please submit all comments in writing to: Charles Kooyman, Colorado
Department of Law, Business and Licensing Section, 1300 Broadway, 8th Floor Denver, CO, 80203,
(720) 508-6440 (phone) (720) 508-6037 (facsimile), or Charles kooyman(a: coag.gov. The Board will
resolve any issues regarding the form of the order. This process does not affect your right to request
reconsideration by the Board or appeal the substance of the order.

Please contact Camille M. Mojar of the Division at (303) 866-3567 ext. 8136 on the Monday prior to
the Board Hearing to confirm exactly which day your item will appear before the Board. If you have
any questions about this letter or the hearing, please contact Peter S. Hays at (303) 866-3567 ext. 8124
or Peter.hays(alstate.co.us.

Minerals Program Director

Signing on behalf of:
Virginia Brannon
Division Director

CERTIFIED MAIL NO. 7017 2400 0000 9205 6632
Return Receipt Requested

cc: Jared Ebert, DRMS
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Peter S. Hays, DRMS
Jeff Fugate, AGO

To file your report, upload your map, and pay your fee online now, go to the link below:
https://dnrforms state.co.us/Forms/DRMSeForms_LandingPage

If you have not yet set up your ePermitting account, go to the link below to get started:

There are detailed instructions on how to file your report, upload your map, and pay your fee in the
e¢Permitting User's Manual at:

https://drms.colorado.gov/information/epermitting
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