

1313 Sherman St. Room 215 Denver, CO 80203

January 6, 2021

Joseph C. Harden Joseph Curtis Harden P.O. Box 1207 Idaho Springs, CO 80452

RE: The Mountain Mining Claim (Permit No. M-2004-008) REASON TO BELIEVE A VIOLATION EXISTS AND NOTICE OF BOARD HEARING

Mr. Harden:

C.R.S. 34-32-116 (3) and (4) and Permit No. M-2004-008 require you to submit to the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety (the "Division") an annual fee, map and report, due on or before October 28 of each year. The annual fee required for your permit is \$259.00. As of the date of this letter the Division has not received your submittal.

Therefore, the Division has reason to believe this is a violation of C.R.S. 34-32-116(3) and (4) *et seq.* and the provisions of your Permit No. M-2004-008 and has scheduled this matter to appear before the Mined Land Reclamation Board (Board), pursuant to C.R.S. 34-32-124.

A Formal Public Hearing will be held during the February 17-18, 2021 Board Meeting for consideration of the possible violation. Due to the impacts of the COVID-19 virus on the availability of State facilities and Division resources, notice is hereby given the February 17-18, 2021 Mined Land Reclamation Board (MLRB) hearing will be by a virtual ZOOM hearing. You will have the opportunity to present your defense.

<u>Please note that only Parties and those who will be testifying must attend by ZOOM</u>. All other interested persons may attend the hearing via the MLRB YouTube Channel: <u>https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDrrAO8bIPFIOwce-yH1fWA</u>

<u>This is an important legal proceeding and you must appear in person for this hearing.</u> If you fail to appear an order and money judgment may be entered against you. In addition, failure to appear at the hearing may result in legal consequences including, but not limited to, loss of party status and your ability to seek reconsideration from the Board or seek judicial appeal in district court.



This hearing format is in support of Governor Jared Polis' direction and the Colorado Department of Public Health Safety and Environment recommendations to limit meetings as part of the social distancing objectives set out by the State of Colorado to help control the spread of COVID-19.

If you submit the past due annual fee, report, and map by February 12, 2021, this matter will be withdrawn from Board consideration and the scheduled hearing will be vacated by the Division.

If the Board finds a violation at this hearing, it may revoke the permit, issue a Cease and Desist Order and/or assess a Civil Penalty in the amount of \$50.00 to \$200.00 for each day of violation pursuant to C.R.S. 34-32-124. If you have evidence indicating that the possible violations noted above do not exist or have been corrected, please provide it to the Division as soon as possible or bring it to the hearing.

If the matter is brought before the Mined Land Reclamation Board, following the hearing, all parties have an opportunity to review and comment on a draft of the Board's order before it becomes final. If you wish to do so, you must provide the Board with a written request to review the draft Order prior to or at the time of your hearing, or you must inform the Board orally during the hearing that you request to review the draft Order. You must include your mailing address and, if possible, an email address. You will be provided a copy of the draft Order for your review as soon as it is available. The Board must receive your comments on the draft Order within ten (10) calendar days of the date the draft Order is mailed, unless that deadline is extended. Please note the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety requested and will be allowed to review and comment on the draft Board Order prior to mailing to any party. Please submit all comments in writing to: Charles Kooyman, Colorado Department of Law, Business and Licensing Section, 1300 Broadway, 8th Floor Denver, CO, 80203, (720) 508-6440 (phone), (720) 508-6037 (facsimile), or charles.kooyman@coag.gov. The Board will resolve any issues regarding the form of the order. This process does not affect your right to request reconsideration by the Board or appeal the substance of the order.

Please contact Camille M. Mojar of the Division at (303) 866-3567 ext. 8136 on the Monday prior to the Board Hearing to confirm exactly which day your item will appear before the Board. If you have any questions about this letter or the hearing, please contact Peter S. Hays at (303) 866-3567 ext. 8124 or peter.hays@state.co.us.

Sincerely.

Russ/Means (/ Minerals Program Director

Signing on behalf of:

Virginia Brannon Division Director

CERTIFIED MAIL NO. 7019 2280 0001 8254 9132 Return Receipt Requested Ec: Jared Ebert, DRMS Peter Hays, DRMS Jeff Fugate, AGO

To file your report, upload your report, map, and pay your fee and civil penalty online now, click on the link below: https://dnrforms.state.co.us/Forms/DRMSeForms_LandingPage

If you have not yet set up your ePermitting account, click on the link below to get started: http://mining.state.co.us/Pages/ePermitting.aspx