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June 12, 2020 

 

Don Flickinger 
P.O. Box 350 
Kodiak, AK 99615 

 

RE: Profitt Mine Site (Permit No. M-1991-054) 

 REASON TO BELIEVE A VIOLATION EXISTS AND 

 NOTICE OF BOARD HEARING 

 

Dear Mr. Flickinger: 

 

C.R.S. 34-32-116(3) and (4) and Permit No. M-1991-054 require you to submit to the Division of 
Reclamation, Mining and Safety (Division) an annual fee, map and report, due on or before May 29 of 
each year. The annual fee required for your permit is $172.00.  As of the date of this letter the Division 
has not received your submittal of the Annual Report and Annual Map.  
 
Therefore, the Division has reason to believe this is a violation of C.R.S. 34-32-116(3) and (4) et seq. and 
the provisions of your Permit No. M-1991-054 and has scheduled this matter to appear before the 
Mined Land Reclamation Board (Board), pursuant to C.R.S. 34-32-124. 
 
A Formal Public Hearing will be held during the August 22-23, 2020 Board meeting (or the second day 
of a two day meeting) in Room 318 of 1313 Sherman Street, Denver, Colorado, beginning at 9:00 a.m. 
or as soon thereafter as the matter can be considered. You will have the opportunity to present your 
defense. 
 
This is an important legal proceeding and you must appear in person for this hearing.  If you fail to appear 
an order and money judgment may be entered against you. In addition, failure to appear at the hearing 
may result in legal consequences including, but not limited to, loss of party status and your ability to seek 
reconsideration from the Board or seek judicial appeal in district court. 
 
If you submit all past due annual fees, reports, and maps by Friday, August 17, 2020 this matter will be 
withdrawn from Board consideration and the scheduled hearing will be vacated. 
 
If the Board finds a violation at this hearing, it may revoke the permit, find the financial warranty subject 
to forfeiture, issue a Cease and Desist Order and/or assess a Civil Penalty in the amount of $100.00 to 
$1,000.00 for each day of violation pursuant to C.R.S. 34-32-124.  If you have evidence indicating that 
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the possible violation noted above do not exist or have been corrected, please provide it to the Division 
as soon as possible or bring it to the hearing.   
 
If the matter is brought before the Mined Land Reclamation Board, following the hearing, all parties 
have an opportunity to review and comment on a draft of the Board’s Order before it becomes final.  If 
you wish to do so, you must provide the Board with a written request to review the draft Order prior 
to or at the time of your hearing, or you must inform the Board orally during the hearing that you 
request to review the draft Order.  You must include your mailing address and, if possible, an email 
address.  You will be provided a copy of the draft Order for your review as soon as it is available.  The 
Board must receive your comments on the draft Order within ten (10) calendar days of the date the 
draft Order is mailed, unless that deadline is extended.  Please note that the Division of Reclamation, 
Mining and Safety has requested and will be allowed to review and comment on the draft Board Order 
prior to mailing to any party.  Please submit all comments in writing to: Charles Kooyman, Colorado 
Department of Law, Business and Licensing Section, 1300 Broadway, 8th Floor Denver, CO, 80203, 
(720) 508-6440 (phone) (720) 508-6037 (facsimile), or Charles.kooyman@coag.gov.  The Board will 
resolve any issues regarding the form of the Order.  This process does not affect your right to request 
reconsideration by the Board or appeal the substance of the Order. 
 
Please contact Camille M. Mojar of the Division at (303) 866-3567 ext. 8136 on the Monday prior to the 
Board Hearing to confirm exactly which day your item will appear before the Board. If you have any 
questions about this letter or the hearing, please contact Stephanie J. Mitchell at (303) 866-3567 ext. 
8180 or Stephanie.mitchell@state.co.us. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Russ Means 
Minerals Program Director 
 
Signing on behalf of: 
 
Virginia Brannon 
Division Director 
 
CERTIFIED MAIL NO. 70140510000061878819 
Return Receipt Requested 
 
cc: Travis Marshall, DRMS 
 Stephanie J. Mitchell, DRMS  
 Jeff Fugate, AGO 
 
To file your report, upload your report, map, and pay your fee and civil penalty online now, click on 
the link below: 
https://dnrforms.state.co.us/Forms/DRMSeForms_LandingPage 
 

https://dnrforms.state.co.us/Forms/DRMSeForms_LandingPage
https://dnrforms.state.co.us/Forms/DRMSeForms_LandingPage


 

If you have not yet set up your ePermitting account, click on the link below to get started: 
http://mining.state.co.us/Pages/ePermitting.aspx 
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