## "We embark on Colorado's first water plan written by Coloradans, for Coloradans."

## Acknowledgements

Governor Hickenlooper's May 2013 executive order to create Colorado's first water plan was a monumental task in a tight timeframe given Colorado's water history. Over two years later with the final plan in hand, we would like to express our sincere gratitude to the thousands of individuals and hundreds of organizations that helped us build Colorado's Water Plan. Your passion for water in Colorado is at once both humbling and energizing!

The hallmark of Colorado's Water Plan is collaboration. It would not be possible without the participants in the basin roundtables, and the Interbasin Compact Committee, the PEPO Workgroup of the IBCC, and the Water Investment Funding Committee. The hours you volunteered to spend in community centers, candidly discussing water issues, and the hard work you put into mapping out your basin's water needs and solutions are the heartbeat of Colorado's Water Plan.

Thank you to numerous members of our sister state agencies: the Office of the State Engineer, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment's (CDPHE) Water Quality Control Division and Commission, the Colorado Attorney General's Office, the Water Court Committee of the Colorado Supreme Court, the Colorado Water Resources and Power Development Authority, Colorado Parks and Wildlife, the State Land Board, the Colorado Department of Agriculture, the Colorado Energy Office, the Department of Local Affairs, and our neighbors in the Department of Natural Resources' (DNR) Executive Director's Office. We are proud to serve Colorado alongside each of you.

Thank you to those who took time out of their busy schedules to submit comments on Colorado's Water Plan. We received over 30,000 comments from individuals, organizations, and agencies during development of the plan. Thank you to members of the Colorado General Assembly's Water Resources Review Committee who traveled across the state to solicit additional public comments through the Senate Bill 14-115 hearings. Each comment was reviewed and your thoughtful recommendations helped shape the final plan.

Thank you to Colorado Water Conservation Board (CWCB) Director James Eklund and all of the current Board members for providing the leadership necessary to draft the plan. Current CWCB Board members include Bob Broscheid, Don Brown, Cynthia Coffman, Jay Gallagher, Russell George (Vice-Chair), Alan Hamel, Diane Hoppe (Chair), Mike King, John McClow, April Montgomery, Travis Smith, John Stulp, Ty Wattenberg, Patricia Wells, and Dick Wolfe.

Thank you to Colorado Water Conservation Board staff and partners who authored sections of the plan. Section authors were Tamara Allen (CDPHE), Linda Bassi, Jacob Bornstein, Tom Browning, Lindsay Cox, Tim Feehan, Taryn Finnessy, Craig Godbout, Ted Kowalski, Kate McIntire, Steve Miller, Rebecca Mitchell, Andy Moore, Brent Newman, Kevin Reidy, Lauren Ris (DNR), Nicole Rowan (CDPHE), and Chris Sturm. Our review team was Josh Boissevain, Meg Dickey-Griffith, Stephanie DiBetitto, Allison Franz, Carolyn Fritz, Linda Lidov (Highland PR), Mara MacKillop, Britton Marchese (HDR), Bill McDonald (Consultant), Luke Rein, Erik Skeie, Dardoh Sowe (DNR), and Ben Wade.

Finally, special thanks goes to Gene Malowany, of Malowany Associates, who provided Creative Direction for the plan, the team at Atomic20, who assisted with layout and formatting of the plan, and Matt Nager, of Matt Nager Photography, who took photographs statewide to help tell the water plan story visually.

