

**United States Department of Agriculture** 

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

JUL - 3 2012

The Honorable John W. Hickenlooper Governor State of Colorado Denver, Colorado 80203

Dear Governor Hickenlooper:



Thank you for your letter of June 27, 2012, requesting a disaster designation for all eligible or qualifying Colorado counties, due to drought and related disasters that have occurred in 2012.

The Department of Agriculture has reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and has determined that there were sufficient production losses in 62 counties to warrant a Secretarial disaster designation. Therefore, I am designating all Colorado counties, except Delta and San Juan Counties, as primary natural disaster areas due to losses caused by drought, excessive heat, and high winds that occurred from January 1, 2012, and continuing.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Delta and San Juan Counties, Colorado, are named as contiguous disaster counties.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Ken J. Vilsel

Thomas J. Vilsack Secretary